Marshall Construction were selected as the main building contractor (Tier 1) to deliver the £3.1m project on behalf of Hub East Central Scotland Limited/Clackmannanshire Council.
The 19th century, ‘A’ listed Speirs Centre was originally built as a public bath (including Turkish and Russian baths) which were designed by Glasgow Architects John Burnet & Son and the development was underwritten as a gift to the town by local businessman John Thomson Paton. The building was originally opened to the public on 29th April 1898, however areas of the building have been partially closed since the 1960’s due to general disuse and a major fire incident.
The fabric of the building has been restored with several internal features brought into public view for the first time in several decades. The building retains many of its construction materials and styles including, the hexagonal chimney, which is the only one of its kind surviving in Scotland. The former boiler room which had fallen into disrepair has been demolished and a modern extension built in its place.
The refurbished building is expected to proudly open its doors to the public once again 18th October, 2014 – The Speirs Centre will showcase many new and improved services, including a new library with Wi-Fi facilities, customer service facilities for all enquiries and payments, display areas as well as a tourist information point. The building is also intended to be used as a community hub with the Registrar moving in to provide a small ceremony room for weddings and a Family History area giving public access to archives.
Stephen Walker, Contracts Manager commented “We are proud to have delivered this historic project on behalf of Hub East Central Scotland & Clackmannanshire Council for the people of Alloa and surrounding areas. We have worked hard to forge relationships with the local supply chain to create a facility which will provide recreation benefits in the area and Marshall Construction is proud to have been chosen to deliver in our local community”.